First consultation is free with no obligation.
Call: 603-841-3080

The basics of possession, distribution and cultivation of marijuana in New Hampshire

As it stands, New Hampshire's legal doctrine on marijuana is much harsher than in the surrounding area. Though it's likely that within the next few years, penalties will be reduced thanks to rapidly changing public opinion and the front line of states that are decriminalizing and even legalizing the substance, residents of the Granite State should carefully weigh the consequences of smoking pot given the current circumstances.

When it comes to possession of marijuana, any amount (but specifically less than one ounce) is considered a Class A misdemeanor offense, which can carry a fine of up to $2,000 and a jail sentence of up to a year.

If you're carrying any amount larger than an ounce, it's likely that the police and/or prosecution will argue that you had an "intent to distribute" the drug - they can even argue this if you have less than one. Effectively, this would make you a dealer and subject to a felony charge. For your first offense, you could face 3 years in prison and a $25,000 fine. The more you possess, the harsher the penalty.

Any charge above simple possession in New Hampshire can be equally applied to anyone who "manufactures, sells, prescribes, administers, or transports or possesses with intent to sell, dispense, or compound any controlled drug," according to the law.

The highest "degree" of charge in these cases is anyone found to be in possession of more than five pounds of marijuana. These individuals could face a $500,000 fine and up to 30 years in prison.

If you have been accused of any crime involving marijuana, be sure you have the best legal team on your side of the courtroom. An experienced New Hampshire criminal attorney can argue your case and work to ensure that you don't unnecessarily suffer under this stringent legal code.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Take Control Of Your Legal Issues. Call 603-841-3080

Email Us For A Response

Start Your Case

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

First consultation is free with no obligation.

Map image Map image

21 South Main Street
Rochester, NH 03867

Phone: 603-841-3080
Fax: 603-330-3476
Rochester Law Office Map

16 Academy Street
Laconia, NH 03246

Phone: 603-841-3080
Map & Directions