The penalties for DWI become harsher when an individual is convicted of an Aggravated DWI. With this in mind, it's essential for people to consult experienced New Hampshire DWI attorneys to ensure fair legal representation in a court of law.
According to DrivingLaws.org, an Aggravated DWI -- which is considered a Class B felony -- occurs when a drunk driver does one of the following:
• Causes serious injury to another individual, usually resulting from a car accident
• Eludes or attempts to elude a law enforcement official
• Exceeds the speed limit by 30 miles per hour or more
• Has a .16 or above Blood Alcohol Level
• Has a passenger under the age of 16 in the vehicle
The penalties for an Aggravated DWI conviction are as follows:
• A minimum fine of $1,000
• A minimum license suspension of 18 months
• A prison sentence ranging from 21 days to seven years
• An order to attain New Hampshire SR22 Insurance
• An order to attend a seven-day Multiple Offender Program
• The installation of an Ignition Interlock.
If you face an aggravated DWI charge in the Granite State, it's a good idea to consult an experienced New Hampshire DUI or DWI attorney who can argue your case in court and help you move on with your life as soon as possible.