Operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol is an offense that isn't taken lightly in the Granite State. If it's your first time being charged with this crime, it's considered a Class B misdemeanor, and could lead to harsh penalties including costly fines, a suspended license and even jail time. With this in mind, it's essential for individuals who are accused of DWI to enlist the help of a New Hampshire DUI or DWI attorney.
According to the Union Leader, 18-year-old Kevin Gaskin of Hampton was arrested this week after allegedly crashing into a building in Exeter while driving drunk on the evening of Monday, July 29. The collision reportedly caused damage to a gas line, forcing the residents of a nearby apartment to evacuate temporarily until the line was repaired.
Gaskin "was charged with unlawful possession of alcohol, operating without a valid license and transportation of alcoholic beverages by a minor," states the source, adding that he is "free on $2,000 personal recognizance bail, pending an August 12 arraignment in 10th Circuit Court, Exeter District Division."
Traditionally, there is a large number of DWI arrests made over the summer in New Hampshire, indicating that law enforcement officials are serious about cracking down on individuals who they suspect are driving while intoxicated. If you have been charged with drunk driving in the Granite State, it's a good idea to consult an experienced New Hampshire DUI or DWI attorney who can argue your case in court and help you move on from this unfortunate mistake.