Previously on this blog, we examined the potential consequences of driving while intoxicated (DWI) in the Granite State when it's your first time being charged with this Class B Misdemeanor, noting that it can lead to a minimum fine of $500 and a nine-month to two-year license suspension, among other penalties.
But what if it's your second DWI? In that case, the law changes a bit and the consequences become more severe, as now you'll be dealing with a Class A Misdemeanor. A second-time DWI conviction that occurs more than two years after the first one may result in the following, according to DrivingLaws.org, which your New Hampshire DWI attorney can explain in greater detail:
• A minimum fine of $750
• A minimum of 10 days in jail
• A three-year minimum license suspension
• An order to attain New Hampshire SR22 Insurance for five years
• An order to spend seven days in a Multiple DWI Offender Intervention Detention Center and possibly drug and/or alcohol counseling
• The potential installation of an Ignition Interlock.
If the second-time DWI conviction takes place less than two years from the first one, you'll face similar consequences, except the minimum jail sentence will be upped to 30 days.
If you have been charged with drunk driving in the Granite State, you owe it to yourself to consult an experienced New Hampshire DUI or DWI attorney who can argue your case in court and help you move on from this unfortunate mistake. These experienced professionals are well-versed in DWI laws and can be invaluable allies throughout the entirety of the legal process.