If you suffer an illness or injury while on the job in the state of New Hampshire, it's important to understand the rights that you're legally entitled to. Through workers' compensation insurance, your medical and rehabilitation costs and lost wages should be covered if necessary, regardless of who was at fault for the incident.
Here are some common questions you may have about workplace injuries and what you can expect in the Granite State if you find yourself in this situation:
Can my employer fire me? This varies on a case-by-case basis in New Hampshire, where there are no job security laws. Depending on the circumstances, it's a possibility that you could lose your position with a company following an injury or illness. In some instances, your employer may be required to reinstate you within 18 months of the incident, provided you have been released by your doctor.
How much money will I receive and how long will it take? You can count on your workers' compensation rate being 60 percent of your average weekly wage. The payments usually start on the fourth day of disability.
Which doctors can I see? If your carrier is using a managed care program, you'll have to select a medical professional within the network. Otherwise, you can choose whichever doctor you would like.
If you have been denied medical bills or medications, workers' compensation claims or benefits, or have been injured or hurt in any way while you were working in the Granite State, it's imperative that you contact an experienced work injury lawyer as soon as possible. These professionals can help ensure that your case receives the attention it deserves and is evaluated properly.