A recent study conducted by the Department of Consumer and Business Services (DCBS) in Oregon found that over the past two years, New Hampshire's premium rate for workers' compensation coverage rose to the ninth highest in the nation. In 2010, the state ranked 10th, while in 2008, it came in at 14th.
The study compares the premium rates in each state against the statistical median for the country in order to determine its ranking, according to the department's website. Thus, while the dollar amount paid by employers in New Hampshire actually decreased over the most recent two-year period, from $2.45 to $2.40 per $100 spent on payroll, its overall ranking rose because the median nationwide dropped by 8 percent, from $2.04 to $1.88.
The Oregon DCBS has conducted this study biannually since the mid-1990s. Many other states in the Northeast also ranked highly, including New York, New Jersey, Maine, Vermont and Connecticut, which had the second-highest rate in America.
Regardless of the rate paid in other states, workers' compensation is mandatory in New Hampshire. The law, according to the department of labor's website, says that "every employer who has any employees, full or part-time, is required to cover these employees with workers' compensation insurance written by a carrier. It does not matter if they are related, such as daughter, son, husband, etc. It also does not matter if the business is a 'Non-Profit' organization."
If you have been injured at work, you have the right to receive workers' compensation benefits to provide you with income to cover medical and living expenses while you are unable to perform your job duties. An experienced New Hampshire workers' compensation lawyer can help you file a claim and, if need be, argue your case in court.